Welcome Back Chicago Cubs, We Missed You!

Chicago Cubs, Spring Training, baseball

This is it folks, the Chicago Cubs begin their quest for the World Series today in Split Squad action against the Oakland A’s and the San Francisco Giants. We’ll see (or hear) all the usual suspects like Jorge Soler, Starlin Castro, Anthony Rizzo and Mike Olt. I bummed it’s only available in audio but you know, I’ll be listening.

So sit back, relax and welcome Cubs baseball back for another season. This is also the Unofficial launch of The Canuck Cubbie blog 2015 style.

Oh what to do, what to do? More than likely, I’ll be switching back and forth between streams but that Oakland/Cubs lineup looks pretty interesting. Of course everyone would like to see Kris Bryant in action and that’s intriguing to the ears.

“I’m ready,” Castro said. “I’m excited because I didn’t finish the season playing and I’ve had a long time that I didn’t play a game. I feel real excited for the first game.”

Ok, I’ve decided this year to learn more about SaberMetrics. Seeing how both Maddon and Epstein are gurus and students of the science, I thought I’d try to educate myself a little more. So that’s my baseball goal for the season. Might even take a Moog course in the craft.

I’ve always been a traditionalist and purist, relying more on Avg. RBI, Hits and HR but the times are a changing and it’s always great to learn new things.

With all these different lineups today, it presents some very cool scenarios as to how the season is going to play out.

“Honestly, I just want to try guys in different slots, especially in a split-squad situation, it’s really different,” Joe Maddon said. “You’ll see them in different spots the whole camp.”

My only complaint about Spring Training is I wish they would try and incorporate it into the regular season. Perhaps the Grapefruit League plays the Cactus League for a trophy at the end and proceeds go to charity. I don’t know, I’ve always felt baseball has the coolest spring training set up in sports and they have the opportunity to do something great with it.

Believe it.

4 comments

  1. Gary Trujillo · March 5, 2015

    You guys get Zito today…here’s to hoping you send him to the showers early so we can move on from this ridiculous “comeback.”

    Like

    • Mark Gauthier · March 5, 2015

      Perhaps Zito is the most overrated pitcher in recent memory. I believe everyone deserves a second chance. When there’s so many great pitchers(better) out there, it’s a little bit of a head scratcher with Zito.

      Like

  2. Minoring In Baseball · March 5, 2015

    Go Cubs! Are any of the games on MLB.tv? I’ll be watching after work if they are. OMG, Cubs, Phil Coke? Really? I’m a Tigers fan, too, and I’ve witnessed some crazy things with this guy…
    -Mike

    Like

Leave a comment